Top 50 Reflection

Slide1 Slide2 Slide3To compile my list of Top 50, I looked back at the covers of each of the 210+ award-winning books that I reviewed and poured over this summer.   What a wonderful, memorable and just plain delicious picture book summer I have had!  I have loved putting together this collection of picture books on my little corner of the Internet.

It seems as if each of these books has a memory for me; I can recall which parts made me smile, which made me (or my 3-year-old) laugh, which caused me to feel sentimental and so on. My criteria in choosing my top 50 picks were the books that stuck with me the longest after the reading was done.  Many of these are written so well that I found them poignant (Zen Shorts, The Dark, The Gardener, In Our Mother’s House, The Lonely Book, The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore), many are pure silly fun with no real purpose other than to entertain (We Are in a Book, Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus, Unicorn Thinks He’s Pretty Great and Pete the Cat and his Four Groovy Buttons) , and others are just wonderfully educational (Me…Jane, On a Beam of Light, All the Water in the World, Down, Down Down, and Electric Ben). I expected to like many Caldecott books, but I found that not to always be the case.  Even a few oldies, but goodies are on the list for the sake of pure sentimentality (Goodnight Moon, The Very Hungry Caterpillar, Where The Wild Things Are and Ferdinand). I found many illustrators and authors to love and to follow closely as they (hopefully) continue to publish more books in the coming years (Bob Shea, Kevin Henkes, Jon Klassen, Oliver Jeffers, Sarah Stewart, David Smalls and many others).  I even discovered some older books that I would probably never have picked up if it weren’t for my picture book course (Many Moons, The Little House, Swimmy and William’s Doll). Some books were chosen to my Top 50 list simply because the illustrations are so beautiful I want to hang them on my wall as art (Black Dog, Extra Yarn, The Dark, A Good Day, Crossing and Mermaid Queen). 

I purchased several of these books on my list just to have a home copy and others are on my wish list.

Top 50 (in no particular order) 

  1. Possum Magic
  2. Anna Hibiscus’ Song
  3. The Lonely Book
  4. Bear Despair
  5. All The Water in the World
  6. And Tango Makes Three
  7. Jangles
  8. Open This Little Book
  9. Zen Shorts
  10. The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore
  11. Balloons Over Broadway: The True Story of The Puppeteer of Macy’s Parade
  12. Me…Jane
  13. Mermaid Queen
  14. Down, Down, Down: A Journey to the Bottom of the Sea
  15. On a Beam of Light: A Story of Albert Einstein
  16. Seven Blind Mice
  17. Sector 7
  18. Electric Ben
  19. A Good Day
  20. Crossing
  21. Tell Me The Day Backwards
  22. Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site
  23. Unicorn Thinks He’s Pretty Great
  24. Dinosaur vs. Bedtime
  25. The Man Who Walked Between The Towers
  26. Many Moons
  27. The Day The Crayons Quit
  28. In Our Mother’s House
  29. Building Our House
  30. William’s Doll
  31. Black Dog
  32. One Cool Friend
  33. Extra Yarn
  34. Knuffle Bunny: A Cautionary Tale
  35. Swimmy
  36. Tops & Bottoms
  37. The Dark
  38. Swamp Angel
  39. The Gardener
  40. Pete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons
  41. Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus
  42. Little Mouse Gets Ready
  43. We Are in a Book
  44. Where the Wild Things Are
  45. Owen
  46. Kitten’s First Full Moon
  47. The Little House: Her Story
  48. The Story of Ferdinand
  49. Goodnight Moon
  50. The Very Hungry Caterpillar
Leave a Reply

